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2021 LEGISLATIVE SUMMARY

On January 11, 2021, the legislature convened for a 105-day session. Prior to the
start of session, majority Democrats developed guidelines to focus the workload in a
virtual session. They instructed their members to introduce no more than seven bills,
and advised that bills would be more likely to advance if they had a clear path in the
other chamber and fit into the following categories: address COVID-19 challenges;
improve racial equity and police accountability; advance economic recovery; and address
climate change. These guidelines were largely successful.

By the first day of session, legislators had pre-filed 286 proposals (bills, resolutions,
etc.), compared to 301 prefiled for the 2019 one-hundred and five-day session. As of
the February 26 committee cutoff, legislators had introduced 1,177 proposals (627 in
the House and 550 in the Senate). By the end of the 2021 session, only 340 bills passed
the legislature. By contrast, past sessions have seen about 1200 bills introduced each
year, with roughly 430 of those bills passing the legislature. Every bill introduced, but
not passed this session, will be considered again next session.

Operating Budget. What had been a dire economic crisis only 14 months ago, turned
into an unexpected robust state economy with the help of significant federal funding
and new revenues. The final budget was based on the Economic and Revenue Forecast
Council’s March 2021 forecast, which projected an additional $1.3 billion in tax revenue
this biennium and an additional $1.9 billion increase forecasted for the 2021-23 budget
cycle. The increase in projected revenues leaves the state with a net surplus of nearly
$3 billion - including reserves - at the end of the biennium. This puts Washington state
nearly back on track with pre-pandemic economic growth, though the job market
struggles in sectors hit hard by COVID closures.

The House and Senate passed the final $59 billion operating budget (ESSB 5092) the
final day of session. The budget includes $10 billion in federal funding, with $1 billion of
that set aside in the Washington Rescue Plan Transition Account (WRPTA). The funds
from WRPTA can be used for responding to the impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic
including those related to education, human services, health care, and the economy.
Legislators left $500 million in the Budget Stabilization Account (aka, the Rainy Day
Fund). In addition, the federal Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES)
Act, signed into law on March 27, 2020, appropriated approximately $2.95 billion to state
and local governments in Washington state to help fund the response to the COVID-19
outbreak. Overall, the budget makes significant expenditures in programs designed for
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economic recovery and to bolster public health efforts.

Capital Budget: The legislature approved a significant capital budget that included
about $189 million in Federal American Rescue Plan (ARP) funds. The budget includes
funding for several court projects, including:

« Trial Court Security Improvements: ($750,000);
. Temple of Justice Enhancements (HVAGC, lighting & water systems) ($30,000,000).

Transportation Budget: The legislature also approved a current revenue
transportation budget. It is anticipated that the legislature may return before next year
to enact a transportation budget with enhanced revenues.

Judicial Branch Budget Priorities

A number of the judicial branch priority budget requests were addressed by legislators
during the budget negotiations, including:

2021 - 2023 Biennium: The 2021-2023 Operating Budget included general funds for:

. New Judge Position - King County: Funding was approved to add a 54th judge to the
King County Superior Court. The position was authorized January 1, 2021. AOC requires
funding to pay the state share of salaries and benefits. ($331,000).

. New Judge Position - Pierce County: Funding was approved for the ongoing costs of
a Pierce County Superior Court judge position. ($331,000).

. Trial Court Funding Language Access: Funding was approved to expand the state
Interpreter Reimbursement Program to help additional courts, increase funds to courts
now receiving assistance, and provide additional testing and training for qualified
interpreters. ($2,726,000).

« LFO Calculator: Funding was approved to continue support of the Legal Financial
Obligations (LFO) Calculator, a web-based tool that provides ready access to current
statutes and case-law governing LFOs. Funding will go to continued maintenance and
online hosting of the calculator. ($61,000).

« Responding to Behavioral Health Needs in the Court: Funding was approved to
develop a statewide court Behavioral Health Response Team to facilitate the
development and implementation of a statewide response to individuals involved in the
justice system who have behavioral health needs and assist with therapeutic courts’
evaluation efforts. ($1,071,000).

. Trial Court Legal Services: Funding was provided for additional legal staff to assist
trial courts with legal research and analysis, updating legal reference materials, and
training for judicial officers. ($769,000).




. Web Services Support: Funding was approved for additional Web Services staff
support, necessary to serve the increasing demand from multiple internal and external
stakeholders. ($319,000).

« Court Equity and Access Team.: Funding was approved to develop a statewide Court
Equity Access Team. This team will provide leadership and corresponding professional
expertise and capacity to pursue and provide infrastructure and support for court system
policy, planning, programming, and data collection and evaluation for critical services to
ensure equal access to civil justice, especially for unrepresented court users, low income,
and those who come from historically marginalized backgrounds. ($1,518,000).

Judicial Information System Requests: Legislators also approved several judicial
branch requests related to the Judicial Information System (JIS):

. Appellate Court Systems Operations and Maintenance (AC-ECMS): Funding was
approved to establish permanent staffing for the Appellate Court Enterprise Content
Management System and web pages. This includes: court records, data systems, eFiling,
inmate eFiling, calendars, and court brief and opinion uploads. ($2,000,000).

« CLJ-CMS: Funding was approved to continue the implementation of the new
Commercial-Off-The-Shelf Case Management System (CMS) for the Courts of Limited
Jurisdiction (CLJ) and probation offices. This will be the continuation of the replacement
of the legacy Courts of Limited Jurisdiction Case Management System (sometimes known
as DISCIS). This is a multi-year, multi-million dollar effort. During the 2021 - 2023
biennium, the project will focus on implementing electronic filing for all District and
Municipal Courts and probation departments statewide. ($16,835,000).

. Internal Equipment Replacement: Funding was approved to replace end of life
equipment and improve performance of heavily used JIS services. ($2,503,000).

« Juvenile Court Portfolio Enhancements: Funding was approved to expand AOC staff
to sustain support for and enhance the juvenile court application portfolio. ($1,032,000).
State General Fund Budget Enhancements

Legislators also provided general funds to the Judicial Branch for the following:

« SB 5160 Landlord Tenant Relations.: Funding was approved for implementation of SB
5160's eviction resolution programs in partnership with Resolution Washington (Dispute
Resolution Centers). ($9,010,000).

« Uniform Guardianship Act: Funding was approved to reimburse courts for costs
incurred fulfilling attorney and court visitor needs created by the UGA. ($8,000,000).




« Thurston County Impact Fee: Funding was approved for ongoing reimbursement to
Thurston County courts for the fiscal impact of state costs. ($2,188,000).

« Blake LFO Aid Pool: Funding was approved to refund LFOs paid by defendants whose
convictions or sentences were affected by the State v. Blake decision. ($23,500,000).

« Blake Decision Court Expenses: Funding was approved to assist counties with costs
related to the State v. Blake decision. ($44,500,000).

Review of Policy Bills with Potential Court or AOC Impact

Each legislative session, numerous Administrative Office of the Courts (AOC) and
court staff screen, analyze, and monitor hundreds of bills for their potential impact
on the business and operations of courts, AOC programs and services, and the
Judicial Information System. While many of the bills introduced each legislative
session will not be enacted into law, every bill must be reviewed for potential impact.
This document provides a high-level summary of bills that may have significant court
impact or interest.

Legislators passed several bills requested or supported by AOC and the judicial
branch entities, including: SHB 1531 (eliminating the expiration date for surcharges
on court filing fees that are deposited into the Judicial Stabilization Trust Account)
and HB 1167 (Thurston County Superior Court Judge).

As you read though the following bill summaries, please do not hesitate to contact
the AOC with questions. You can find detailed information about a bill on the
legislature’s website by visiting https://app.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/ and entering the 4-
digit bill number. You can find information about the governor’s signature, veto, or
partial veto of bills at https://www.governor.wa.gov/office-governor/official-
actions/bill-action.



https://app.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/
https://www.governor.wa.gov/office-governor/official-actions/bill-action
https://www.governor.wa.gov/office-governor/official-actions/bill-action

Uniform child custody jurisdiction/enforcement act
HB 1042

Chapter 23, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): Superior

Categories: Family/Juvenile

Effective Date(s): 04/14/2021

Allows courts to suspend application of Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction and Enforcement Act
(UCCJEA) standards in international child custody cases in which a parent or child’s country of
origin punishes homosexuality or failure to abandon ones religious or political beliefs (apostasy)
by death, and a party shows a demonstrable risk of being subjected to such law.

Police officers/tactics and equipment

ESHB 1054

Chapter 320, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): Superior, Juvenile, District/Municipal
Categories: Civil, Criminal

Effective Date(s): 07/25/2021

Prohibits a peace officer from using a chokehold or neck restraint in the course of his or her duties.
Requires the criminal justice training commission to establish a work group to develop a model
policy for the training and use of canine teams. Prohibits the use of tear gas by peace officers or
other employees unless necessary to prevent risk of serious harm posed by a riot, barricaded
subject or hostage situation. Creates specific standards for when tear gas can be used. Prohibits
law enforcement agencies from acquiring or using military equipment. Requires all law
enforcement agencies to ensure uniformed peace officers are reasonably identifiable while on
duty. Limits the use of vehicular pursuit by law enforcement to specific circumstances. Prevents
a peace officer from firing a weapon at a moving vehicle unless necessary to protect against an
imminent threat of serious physical harm. Prohibits the court from issuing a warrant granting an
exception to the requirement for the officer to announce his or her presence and purpose when
executing the warrant.

Local government/criminal justice sales tax funds
E2SHB 1069

Chapter 296, Laws of 2021 PV

Court Level(s): Superior, District/Municipal

Categories: Criminal

Effective Date(s): 05/13/2021

Allows local governments increased flexibility in use of existing revenue streams through
December of 2023 and permits Criminal Justice Sales Tax funds to be used for local government
programs aimed at reducing the number of individuals associated with the criminal justice system.
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NOTE: The Governor vetoed Sections 9, 17, and 18.

Legal Aid Fund expenditure restrictions
HB 1072

Chapter 58, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): Superior

Categories: Civil

Effective Date(s): 07/25/2021

Removes restriction on civil legal aid fund expenditure; allows providers to assist litigants who are
in the United States without legal authority.

Private, for-profit detention facilities
EHB 1090

Chapter 30, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): Superior, Juvenile
Categories: Criminal

Effective Date(s): 04/14/2021

Prohibits operating, contracting with or use of private detention facilities by persons, businesses,
or local or state governments. Certain exceptions apply, including facilities providing treatment,
medical services, rehabilitative services, mental health services, counseling or educational services
to juveniles under Title 13 RCW.

Reducing greenhouse gas emissions

E3SHB 1091

Chapter 31, Laws of 2021 PV

Court Level(s): Superior, District/Municipal
Categories: Civil, Criminal, New/Amended Crimes
Effective Date(s): 07/25/2021

Creates a program intended to prompt the use of clean fuel technologies in order to reduce the
carbon intensity of fuel used in Washington. Amends several statues relating to energy and
emissions, and expands civil penalties and gross misdemeanors for knowingly violating the
statutes, negligently releasing hazardous air pollutants, or failing to disclose potential conflicts of
interest. NOTE: The Governor vetoed Section 3(8), which would have delayed the assignment of
compliance obligations or the generation of credits under this chapter until a separate additive
transportation revenue act becomes law.




Worker Protections

ESHB 1097

Chapter 253, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): Superior

Categories: Civil, Other/Informational

Effective Date(s): 01/01/2022, except for section 3, which takes effect 07/1/2022.

Allows an employer to contest an order restraining a condition of employment issued under RCW
49.17.130(1) within 10 working days of the effective date of the order, by applying to the superior
court. Allows the director of the department of labor and industries to penalize an employer for
violating an order restraining a condition of employment and gives the employer 15 working days
to appeal. Adds any action that would deter an employee from exercising their rights in this act
to chapter 49.17 RCW as a type of discrimination. Gives employees the right to appeal a directors
decision in superior court and the court has jurisdiction to order appropriate relief including
rehiring or reinstatement of the employee with back pay. Creates an appeals process through the
board of industrial insurance, but remedies may be pursued in superior court that fall outside of
the board industrial insurance jurisdiction.

School attendance/truancy petitions

ESHB 1113

Chapter 119, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): Superior, Juvenile

Categories: Family/Juvenile, Forms

Effective Date(s): 04/26/2021, except for sections 7 through 15, which become effective
08/01/2021.

Amends school attendance requirements, and allows use of tiered support system to prevent
absences and support students and families. Community Truancy Board name changed to
“Community Engagement Board”. Requires school districts to file truancy petition after 7th
unexcused absence in one month and by the 15th unexcused absence in one year.

Juveniles/access to attorneys
ESHB 1140

Chapter 328, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): Superior, Juvenile
Categories: Criminal

Effective Date(s): 01/01/2022

Requires juveniles have access to an attorney (by phone, in-person or via video) when contacted
by law enforcement, before the youth waives any constitutional rights. Unless subject to an
exception, this applies to questioning during custodial interrogation, detainment on probable
cause related to commission of a crime, and requests to submit to an evidentiary search.
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Consultation with an attorney may not be waived. Statements made prior to consulting with an
attorney in such circumstances are inadmissible in juvenile or adult court with certain exceptions.

Emergency Communications Systems/tax funding
SHB 1155

Chapter 297, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): Superior, District/Municipal

Categories: Other/Informational

Effective Date(s): 07/25/2021

Requires counties with a population over 1.5 million imposing the emergency communications
sales and use tax, and any city within that county with a population over 50,000, to enter into an
interlocal agreement with regard to distribution of the revenue from the tax. If a city and county
cannot reach agreement within the allotted timeframe either may seek apportionment in the
county’s superior court.

Thurston County Superior Court/9th judge

HB 1167

Chapter 63, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): Superior

Categories: Other/Informational, Salaries/Benefits/Personnel/HR
Effective Date(s): 07/25/2021

Increases the number of judges on the Thurston County Superior Court bench from 8 to 9. The
new judicial position is effective November 1, 2021 if the local legislative authority approves and
contracts to pay county portion of associated costs.

Child support withholding/federal requirements

SHB 1171

Chapter 35, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): Superior

Categories: Family/Juvenile

Effective Date(s): 07/25/2021, except for section 14, which is effective 02/01/2021.

Amends child support income withholding provisions to comply with federal child support program
requirements. Changes writ of garnishment language, eliminates the ability to seek prejudgment
garnishment under RCW 6.26, and requires DCS to use income withholding forms created by the
federal Department of Health and Human Services to initiate withholding action.
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Juveniles rehabilitation/community transition services

E2SHB 1186

Chapter 206, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): Superior, Juvenile

Categories: Family/Juvenile, Other/Informational

Effective Date(s): 07/25/2021, except for sections 1 through 6, 8 and 9, which are contingent.

Directs DCYF to create the Community Transitions Services Program to provide therapeutic
community transition services and supports for youth. Eligible individuals who have served at
least 60 percent of a term of confinement, and at least 15 weeks of total confinement, may be
transitioned to community confinement for the remainder of their term while under DCYF
monitoring with regard to location and services. In the event of a violation, or if the Department
determines placement in the program is no longer in the individuals best interests, they may be
returned to the Department operated institution.

Youth counseling/dependency
2SHB 1219

Chapter 210, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): Superior, Juvenile, AOC
Categories: Family/Juvenile, Forms
Effective Date(s): 07/25/2021

Mandatory appointment of counsel for children 8 years of age and older who are involved in
dependency proceedings will be phased in beginning with implementation in at least three
counties July 2022 until statewide implementation by January 2027. Child representation
standards will be updated and recommendations for representation of children under 8 years of
age will be submitted to the legislature March 2022. The Office of Civil Legal Aid is responsible
for the child representation program and the Washington State Center for Court Research will
provide an evaluation and annual report.

Standardizing homelessness definitions
SHB 1221

Chapter 67, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): Superior, Juvenile
Categories: Family/Juvenile, Forms
Effective Date(s): 07/25/2021

Added a definition homelessness to certain statutes related to juveniles that include situations in
Title 42 U.S.C., chapter 19, subchapter I.
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Electronic recording of custodial interrogations

SHB 1223

Chapter 329, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): Superior, Juvenile, District/Municipal

Categories: Civil, Criminal

Effective Date(s): 07/25/2021, except for Sections 1 though 20, which take effect 01/01/2022.

Requires electronic recording of custodial interrogations for felony and juvenile offenses. Requires
a custodial interrogation at a jail, police or sheriff's station, holding cell, or correctional or
detention facility to be recorded by audio and video means. Allows an officer to prepare a written
or electronic report after failing to record all or part of a custodial interrogation to explain the
circumstances. Creates various exceptions and allows the individual subject to the custodial
interrogation the option to give a statement without a recording. Requires the prosecutor, that
intents to use an unrecorded custodial statement, to provide written notice of an exception and
prove by a preponderance of the evidence that an exception applies. Provides guidelines for the
court to consider whether the failure to record all or part of a custodial interrogation resulted in
a statement that was voluntary. Allows the defendant the opportunity to present evidence to the
jury an admitted statement was not recorded electronically in compliance with this act. Prohibits
civil liability for damages against a governmental entity when a law enforcement agency creates
procedures to implement this act and specifies there is no private cause of action against an
individual officer. Provides self-authentication of the recorded custodial statement if accompanied
by a sworn statement from the officer affirming authenticity.

Eviction cause/notice requirements
ESHB 1236

Chapter 212, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): Superior

Categories: Civil

Effective Date(s): 05/10/2021

Creates several “cause” requirements for when a landlord may evict a tenant, refuse to continue
a tenancy, or end a periodic tenancy. Creates various definitions and notice timelines for these
“cause” requirements. Directs the landlord to provide notice to all other occupants of a residence
after the tenancy is ended, requiring the other occupants to apply to become a tenant or vacate.
Allows the landlord to be penalized the greater of three times the monthly rent or damages
suffered by the tenant in a wrongful eviction. Changes the standard from “deliberately” to
“knowingly” for a tenant to recover damages for a prohibited provision in the rental agreement.
Increases maximum damages to two times the monthly rent.
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Court and county level operations/COVID-19 pandemic

EHB 1271

Chapter 122, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): All

Categories: Other/informational

Effective Date(s): 07/25/2021, except for section 10, which takes effect 07/01/2022.

Allows county level operations to continue uninterrupted during COVID without barriers. Allows
clerks of all levels of courts to attend proceedings virtually, state auditor to extend annual fiscal
report filing deadlines for local governments, DMV to allow coroners access to negative files to
identify deceased persons, adds a definition of “public auction sale by electronic media” under
RCW 6 in enforcement of judgments, and requires posting of sale and sheriff statement on website
of auction sale host for the sale of real estate.

Eviction prevention services/recorded document surcharge
E2SHB 1277

Chapter 214, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): District/Municipal

Categories: Accounting, Civil, JIS, Other/Informational

Effective Date(s): 07/25/2021

A new surcharge of $100 must be charged by the country auditor for each document recorded,
except those documents listed in section 1(2) of the act. The surcharge is in addition to any other
charge of surcharge allowed by law. The surcharge also applies when district court clerks file
Name Change Petitions with the county auditor.

Misdemeanant supervision/interlocal agreements
SHB 1294

Chapter 41, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): District/Municipal, AOC

Categories: Criminal, Other/Informational

Effective Date(s): 07/25/2021

Allows courts of limited jurisdiction to enter into interlocal agreements for probation supervision
services including pretrial and/or post-judgment probation supervision services for one or more
specific cases. Clarifies that courts need not require the referral of all supervised cases by the
jurisdiction and may limit the referral for services to a single case. Requires that agreements be
approved by the presiding judge of each participating court and may not require approval of the
executive and legislative bodies of each jurisdiction unless there is additional expenditure of funds
by the jurisdiction. Requires that all proceedings to grant, modify, or revoke probation must be
held in the court that imposes probation supervision. Specifies that jail costs and the cost of other
sanctions remain with the jurisdiction that imposes probation services. Allows the AOC to create
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a model interlocal agreement in cooperation with the District and Municipal Court Judges
Association and the Washington Association of Prosecuting Attorneys.

Institutional education programs
E2SHB 1295

Chapter 164, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): Superior, Juvenile
Categories: Family/Juvenile
Effective Date(s): 07/25/2021

Directs OSPI and DCYF to create joint recommendations regarding creation, funding and
implementation of a reformed institutional education system for youth in or released from secure
facilities. Creates an advisory group, to include juvenile court administrators, to examine
education access and delivery, data collection, reporting and facility policies.

Regional transit authority/fare enforcement
SHB 1301

Chapter 70, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): AOC

Categories: Other/Informational

Effective Date(s): 07/25/2021

Authorizes regional transit authorities (such as Sound Transit) to create alternative fare
enforcement systems, which may include issuing notices of violation, in addition to or as a
replacement for the schedule of fines and penalties currently in place for civil infractions.

Permissible use of force by police/corrections
E2SHB 1310

Chapter 324, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): Superior, Juvenile, District/Municipal
Categories: Civil

Effective Date(s): 07/25/2021

Specifies instances when a peace officer may use physical and deadly force against a person and
requires the use of reasonable care when determining whether to use physical force. Requires
de-escalation tactics whenever possible and provides examples of such tactics. Directs peace
officers that use physical force to use the least amount of physical force necessary to overcome
resistance under the circumstances, terminate the use of physical force as soon as the necessity
for such force ends, and when possible, use available and appropriate less lethal alternatives
before using deadly force. Requires the attorney general to develop and publish model policies
on law enforcement's use of force and de-escalation tactics by 07/01/2022, and requires all law
enforcement agencies to adopt policies consistent with the model policies and submit copies of
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the applicable policies to the attorney general. Mandates various additional law enforcement
training to carry out the intent of this act.

Civil Protection Orders

E2SHB 1320

Chapter 215, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): Superior, District/Municipal, AOC

Categories: Civil, Forms, ]IS, Other/Informational

Effective Date(s): 07/01/2022, except for sections 12, 16, 18, 25, and 36, which take effect
07/25/2021.

Consolidates all six civil protection order case types under a single chapter (domestic violence,
sexual assault, stalking, anti-harassment, vulnerable adult and extreme risk protection orders).
Provides general uniformity in rules and procedures across protection order types and modernizes
processes. Mandates creation of a single petition that may be used to file for any type of protection
order. Authorizes hearings to be conducted in person or by telephone, video or other electronic
or remote means. Adds provisions governing electronic submission of petitions and case tracking
by parties. Allows service by electronic means in certain circumstance. Revises existing firearm
surrender, possession and revocation requirements and domestic violence no-contact order
provisions.

Off-Road vehicle/snowmobile registration enforcement
SHB 1322

Chapter 216, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): Superior, District/Municipal

Categories: Accounting, Criminal, JIS, New/Amended Crimes
Effective Date(s): 10/01/2021

Removes an exemption for registration of off-road vehicles and snowmobiles owned by residents
of another state if that state borders Washington and does not impose a retail sales and use tax.
Requires no fee for off-road vehicle decals owned by residents of other states if the vehicle is
properly registered. Clarifies that certain out-of-state applicants for an off-road vehicle
registration do not have to pay the registration fee but may have to pay a transaction fee collected
by subagents. Expands an existing gross misdemeanor for registering an off-road vehicle or
snowmobile in another state to avoid retail sales tax, and adds a fine of four times the amount of
avoided taxes and fees for second or subsequent offenses.

Unlawful racial restrictions in recorded documents
E2SHB 1335

Chapter 256, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): Superior
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Categories: Civil, Other/Informational
Effective Date(s): 07/25/2021

Requires the University of Washington and Eastern Washington University to review recorded
covenants and deed restrictions to identify recorded documents that include racial or other
unlawful restrictions on property ownership and provide the property owners with information on
how to petition the superior court to have the unlawful restriction removed. Requires a complete
copy of any document affected by an order striking void provisions to be made an exhibit to the
order. Requires the order to identify each document and state verbatim the void provisions.
Requires the order to physically redact void provisions on a certified copy of each document.
Directs the petitioner to file the order with the auditor.

Health care workforce eligibility/criminal records

SHB 1411

Chapter 219, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): Superior, District/Municipal

Categories: Civil, Other/Informational

Effective Date(s): 07/25/2021, except section 6, which takes effect 07/1/2022.

Prevents the department of social and health services (DSHS) from automatically disqualifying a
person, based on certain criminal convictions, for consideration of various positions when a
background check is required to provide supervision, care, or treatment to vulnerable adults or
children. Provides several exceptions based on the type of position. Requires DSHS to facilitate
a work group dedicated to expanding the long-term care workforce. Amends statutes governing
certificate of restoration of opportunity to incorporate this act and allows DSHS to consider an
applicant that would otherwise be disqualified due to a criminal conviction if they received a
certificate of restoration of opportunity. Provides that an applicant is not automatically disqualified
from a DSHS position with unsupervised access to children, vulnerable adults, or persons with
mental illness or developmental disabilities if the applicant received a certificate of restoration of
opportunity and DSHS has not disqualified the applicant based on the character, competence, and
suitability review.

National 988 System/suicide prevention services

E2SHB 1477

Chapter 302, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): Superior, District/Municipal

Categories: Criminal, New/Amended Crimes

Effective Date(s): 07/25/2021, except for section 103, which took effect 05/13/2021; sections
201 through 205, which take effect 10/01/2021; and section 402, which takes effect 07/01/2022.

Requires implementation of the national 988 system to enhance and expand behavioral health
crisis response and suicide prevention services statewide by imposing an excise tax on certain
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telecommunications services. Establishes a new gross misdemeanor for companies who
misappropriate funds collected for a new tax on the use of radio access lines intended to fund a
crisis response line and crisis care coordination through Department of Health, and establishes a
new misdemeanor for consumers who refuse to pay the tax. NOTE: Section 401 expires 07/01/22.

Judicial Stabilization Trust Account

SHB 1532

Chapter 303, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): Superior, District/Municipal

Categories: Accounting, Court Funding/Fees/LFOs, Other/Informational
Effective Date(s): 07/01/2021

Removes the sunset date associated with surcharges on court filing fees that are deposited into
the Judicial Stabilization Trust Account.

Uniform Public Expression Protection Act
SSB 5009

Chapter 259, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): Superior

Categories: Civil, Other/Informational
Effective Date(s): 07/25/2021

Creates a defense to civil claims arising out of a person’s communication in various instances
related to public expression. Creates a special motion for expedited relief, which requires 14 days
written notice to the opposing party. Requires proceedings to be stayed if the public expression
qualifies under this act. Requires the court to hold a hearing within 60 days if a special motion for
expedited relief is filed, unless further discovery is required or other good cause. Specifies certain
types of proof that must be considered by the court when ruling on a motion for summary
judgment under superior court civil rule 56. Creates specific standards for dismissal after a party
raises and proves a defense under this act. Requires the court to make a ruling on a special
motion for expedited relief within 60 days of the hearing. Allows parties 21 days to appeal the
decision after entry of the order. Requires the court to award court costs, attorneys' fees, and
litigation expenses to the prevailing party.

Fraudulent ballot drop boxes

SB 5015

Chapter 85, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): Superior, District/Municipal
Categories: Criminal, New/Amended Crimes
Effective Date(s): 07/25/2021
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Amends statute relating to deceptive, incorrect vote recording to include knowingly
misrepresenting an unofficial ballot collection site or device as an official ballot drop box that has
been established by the county auditor as a gross misdemeanor. Establishes penalties the same
as a gross misdemeanor that is punishable under existing sentencing statute.

Recycling/waste and litter reduction
E2SSB 5022

Chapter 313, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): Superior

Categories: Civil, Other/Informational
Effective Date(s): 07/25/2021

Creates new rules and penalties relating to the management of waste and recycling materials.
Allows the attorney general, at the request of the department of ecology, to bring a civil action in
superior court of Thurston County or any county the violator does business to recover penalties
assessed pursuant to this act. Allows the local air authority to bring an action to recover the
penalty, if the penalty is not paid within thirty days, in the superior court of the county of the
authorities’ main office or any county the violator does business.

Consumer Protection Act/penalties
SSB 5025

Chapter 228, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): Superior, District
Categories: Civil, Other/Informational
Effective Date(s): 07/25/2021

Increases various civil monetary penalties for violating an injunction under the consumer
protection act. Creates a new $5,000 penalty for discriminatory acts or practices.

Open carry of certain weapons/public demonstrations and state capitol grounds
ESSB 5038

Chapter 261, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): Superior, Juvenile, District/Municipal

Categories: Criminal, New/Amended Crimes

Effective Date(s): 05/12/2021

Creates a new gross misdemeanor crime which prohibits any person from knowingly and openly
carrying a firearm or other weapon while knowingly at any permitted demonstration. Prohibits
the knowing and open carry of a firearm or other weapon while knowingly within 250 feet of the
perimeter of a permitted demonstration after an officer advises the person of the permitted
demonstration and directs the person to leave until he or she no longer possesses or controls the
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firearm or other weapon. Creates an additional gross misdemeanor crime for knowingly and
openly carrying a firearm or other weapon while on the capitol campus grounds. Provides
exemptions to these new crimes for law enforcement, persons on private property, military and
persons legally concealing a firearm with a valid concealed pistol license.

Civil commitment/transition teams

E2SSB 5071

Chapter 263, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): Superior, District/Municipal

Categories: Civil, Criminal, Forms

Effective Date(s): 07/25/2021, except for section 3, which takes effect 07/01/2026; section 12,
which takes effect 07/01/2022; and sections 13 and 14, which are contingent.

Requires the appointment of a multidisciplinary transition team for a person who has been
involuntarily committed under criminal insanity laws or after the dismissal of a violent felony
charge under certain circumstances. Allows omission of members of the transition team under
specific conditions. Updates minimum requirements for an order of conditional release to less
restrictive alternative treatment for a person who has been involuntary committed under criminal
insanity laws. Also updates less restrictive alternative treatment after a dismissal of a violent
felony charge based on incompetency to stand trial. Allows a court to delay a bail hearing for a
defendant at first appearance or arraignment if it is determined that a competency to stand trial
evaluation will be requested or ordered if charges are pursued. Requires the clerk of a superior
court to share hearing outcomes in all hearings under chapter 71.05 RCW with the local behavioral
health administrative services organization that serves the region where the superior court is
located and to share the name of the facility where the person has been committed. NOTE:
Sections 11 and 13 expire 07/01/2022.

Involuntary commitment/less restrictive alternative treatment

SB 5073

Chapter 264, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): Superior

Categories: Civil, Forms

Effective Date(s): 07/25/2021, except for Sections 2, 4, 7, 9, 11, 15, 32, and 34, which take
effect 07/01/2026; sections 21 and 26, which take effect 07/01/2022; sections 22, 23, 27, and
28, which are contingent; and sections 25 and 31, which take effect 05/12/2021.

Modifies less restrictive alternative treatment services to include assignment of a care coordinator,
information regarding mental health advance care directives, and periodic court reviews. Allows
a court to supervise a person on an order for less restrictive alternative treatment or conditional
release, require periodic reviews, and modify the order after receiving input from the agency or
facility providing care. Clarifies the parameters of the conditional release period under chapter
71.05 RCW. Allows care coordinators to share information to parties for involuntary commitment
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proceedings. Removes exclusive jurisdiction of an Indian tribe for the involuntary commitment of
an American/Indian Alaska Native to an evaluation and treatment facility within the boundaries of
the tribe. Allows a federally recognized Indian Tribe to petition for an adolescent (who is a
member of the Indian tribe) to be detained following the procedures in chapter 71.05 RCW.
Updates terminology in chapter 71.05 RCW and chapter 71.34 RCW from “written order of
apprehension” to “warrant” and “alcoholism”/*drug abuse”/"substance abuse” to “substance use
disorder.” Also, changes the definition for “less restrictive alternative” or “less restrictive setting”
to include residential treatment under chapter 71.34 RCW. NOTE: Sections 1, 3, 6, 8, 10, 14, 31,
and 33 expire on 7/01/2026; sections 20 and 25 expire on 7/1/2022.

Health emergency labor standards

ESSB 5115

Chapter 252, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): Superior

Categories: Civil, Other/Informational, Salaries/Benefits/Personnel/HR
Effective Date(s): 05/11/2021

Creates new employment standards during a public health emergency. Creates a presumption
that an infectious or contagious disease, that is subject to and contracted during a public health
emergency, is an occupational disease. Provides protections for workers with the occupational
disease contracted during a public health emergency and also creates standards for which the
presumption of an occupational disease may be rebutted. Creates an obligation for an employer
to send written notification to employees, who were potentially exposed to an infectious or
contagious disease, which is subject to a public health emergency after receiving notice of
potential exposure. Creates an obligation for employers with 50 or more employees to report
infections to the department of labor and industries during a public health emergency.

Juvenile rehabilitation/reentry

SB 5118

Chapter 265, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): Juvenile, District/Municipal
Categories: Criminal, Other/Informational
Effective Date(s): 07/25/2021

Creates a procedure for the defendant to apply to the superintendent to be present at court
proceedings for a charge unrelated to their current incarnation in courts of limited jurisdiction and
juvenile courts. Provides defendants with the right to trial in pending cases in every court level
within 120 days, when in custody on unrelated charges. Creates excluded periods for the time
for trial calculation. Prevents the department of children, youth, and families from attempting to
site new community facilities east of the Cascade Mountain Range, unless there is an equal or
greater number of sited community facilities on the western side of the Cascades. Requires the
secretary of the department of corrections to notify health care insurance providers at least 30
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days prior to a person’s release from a residential facility.

Unlawfully summoning a police officer
ESB 5135

Chapter 330, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): Superior, District/Municipal
Categories: Civil

Effective Date(s): 07/25/2021

Creates a new civil action against a person who unlawfully summons a police officer with the
intention to infringe on the other person’s rights; unlawfully discriminate against the other person;
cause the other person to feel harassed, humiliated, or embarrassed; cause the other person to
be expelled from a place in which the other person is lawfully located; or damage the person’s
reputation, financial or economic interests. Clarifies that a person shall not be held liable if the
person acted in good faith in causing a law enforcement officer to arrive. Allows for statutory and
punitive damages, fees & costs. Allows for civil action to be maintained in a court of limited
jurisdiction if the total damages claimed do not exceed the statutory limit for damages in district
court.

Pregnancy and miscarriage-related care
SSB 5140

Chapter 235, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): Superior

Categories: Civil, Other/Informational
Effective Date(s): 07/25/2021

Creates a new civil cause of action against a health care entity related to denial of appropriate
care for pregnancy complications, miscarriage management or ectopic pregnancy treatment in
cases involving risk to the patient’s life, or risk of irreversible complications.

Foster care/child care

SSB 5151

Chapter 304, Laws of 2021 PV
Court Level(s): Superior, Juvenile
Categories: Family/Juvenile
Effective Date(s): 07/25/2021

Defines qualified residential treatment program as a program that meets the requirements
provided in RCW 13.34.420, qualifies for funding under the family first prevention services act
under 42 U.S.C. Sec. 672(k), and, if located within Washington State, is licensed as a group care
facility under chapter 74.15.RCW. Makes changes to foster care licensing creating a child-specific
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license for a relative or suitable person. NOTE: The Governor vetoed the null and void clause in
Section 33.

Vehicle/driver data disclosure and use

SSB 5152

Chapter 93, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): Superior, District/Municipal
Categories: Civil, Criminal, New/Amended Crimes
Effective Date(s): 07/25/2021

Clarifies the allowable uses of personal or identity information, prescribes penalties for data
misuse, and codifies existing data contract practices. Requires the Department of Licensing to
enter into a contract with entities authorized to receive data. Authorizes the release of records
to third parties in certain circumstances. Establishes a new gross misdemeanor for selling or
distributing any personal or identity information to another person not disclosed in the request or
disclosure agreement, and a new civil penalty imposed by the Department of Licensing.

Conditionally released sexually violent predators
E2SSB 5163

Chapter 236, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): Superior

Categories: Civil, Other/Informational

Effective Date(s): 07/25/2021

Requires sexually violent predators to be provided with an ongoing, clinically appropriate
discharge plan as part of the treatment process and creates minimum standards. Modifies
statutory procedures allowing either the department of corrections (DOC) or person to request a
less restrictive placement and conditional release if certain conditions can be met. Requires the
court to set show cause hearings to determine whether the person and proposed placement are
sufficient to protect the person and community. Requires the court to order the clerk to transmit
copies of any order for unconditional discharge of a person to the DOC. Creates distance
restrictions from schools and child care facilities that the court is required to order when
authorizing any release to a less restrictive alternative. Allows DOC to propose placement at a
facility outside of the county if fair share principals are met. Requires the court to enter specific
findings if a decision is made to authorize a conditional release to a county other than the county
of commitment and identify whether the release remains in line with fair share principles. Allows
the DOC to issue an arrest warrant for up to 96 hours, pending entry of a bench warrant by the
court, if the person disappears while on conditional release.
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Agricultural employees/overtime pay
ESSB 5172

Chapter 249, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): Superior

Categories: Civil, Other/Informational
Effective Date(s): 07/25/2021

Creates an agricultural employee overtime exemption that expires December 31, 2021 and phases
in hours and overtime requirements, until January 1, 2024, when an agricultural employee shall
not be employed for more than 40 hours a week unless the agricultural employee receives one
and one-half times that agricultural employee's regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 40 a
week. Prevents an agricultural or dairy employee from seeking damages against an employer for
unpaid overtime based on the employee's statutory exemption from overtime as it existed on
November 4, 2020. Allows dairy employees entitled to back pay or other relief as a result of being
a member in the class of plaintiffs in Martinez-Cuevas v. DeRuyter Bros. Dairy, 196 Wn.2d 506 10
(2020) to recover damages.

Vacating certain convictions

ESSB 5180

Chapter 237, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): Superior, Juvenile, District/Municipal
Categories: Criminal, Forms

Effective Date(s): 07/25/2021

Allows victims of domestic violence, sex trafficking, and sexual assault to apply to have their
convictions vacated. Gives either the victim or prosecutor the ability to apply to have the
conviction vacated. Allows the court to retain discretion to vacate the conviction.

Transferring APA and LUPA judicial reviews to the Court of Appeals

SB 5225

Chapter 305, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): Appellate, Superior

Categories: Civil, Court Funding/Fees/LFOs, JIS

Effective Date(s): 06/13/2021, except for sections 5 and 6, which take effect 07/01/2026.

Judicial review of land use decisions under RCW chapter 36.70C may be transferred from the
Superior Court to the Court of Appeals if all parties consent to the transfer and that the review
can occur based on the existing record. This process expires June 30, 2026. RCW 34.05.518 is
also amended to allow judicial review of an administrative agency’s final decision in an adjudicative
proceeding to be transferred to the Court of Appeals upon certification of the Superior Court that
all parties have consented to the transfer and that the review can occur based upon the agency
record. If one or more of the parties do not consent to the transfer, the Superior Court can still
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certify the case for transfer if it does not cause substantial prejudice to a party, the review can
occur based on the agency record, and the Superior Court has completed any supplementation of
the record such that only issues of law remain for determination. This process expires July 1,
2026. No fee may be charged for a case transferred from the Superior Court to the Court of
Appeals under this Act.

Suspension of licenses/traffic infractions

ESSB 5226

Chapter 240, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): District/Municipal, AOC

Categories: Accounting, Court Funding/Fees/LFOs, Infractions, JIS
Effective Date(s): 01/01/2023

Creates an option to allow people receiving traffic infractions to respond that they are unable to
pay, and requires them to receive information on how to submit evidence of inability to pay,
obtain a payment plan, and be informed that failure to pay or enter into a payment plan may
result in collection action, including garnishment. Increases the response time after receiving a
notice of infraction from 15 to 30 days. It also provides that the court may waive any monetary
penalty, fee, cost, assessment, or other monetary obligation associated with a traffic infraction
unless that obligation is prohibited from being waived by state law. Consolidates current
provisions pertaining to payment plans for traffic infractions into a new statute in chapter 46.63
RCW, and requires the court to attempt to enter into a payment plan with a person who responded
to a traffic infraction for a moving violation by attesting that they were unable to pay, prior to
referring the monetary obligation to a collections agency. The court may modify a payment plan
at any time, and may require a person who fails to make payment as required under a payment
plan to appear and provide evidence of ability to pay. Narrows the grounds on which DOL can
suspend a driver’s license and adds a new section pertaining to administrative reinstatement
requiring DOL to identify the reason for the suspension. Amends the statutory bases for a court
sending notice to DOL regarding traffic infractions. Raises the legislative assessment on traffic
infractions to $24 from $20, and raises the JIS fee by $2, with the additional $4 and $2 being
remitted to a new driver licensing technology support account.

Police/personal injury and wrongful death defense
SB 5263

Chapter 325, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): Superior

Categories: Civil, Other/Informational

Effective Date(s): 07/25/2021

Amends the personal injury or wrongful death defense asserted when the injured person was
engaged in a felony. Creates a new subsection for this defense as it relates to law enforcement
and requires the finder of fact to determine beyond a reasonable doubt that the person injured
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or killed was engaged in the commission of a felony which was a proximate cause of the injury or
death.

Necessary elements of proof of injury
SSB 5271

Chapter 241, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): Superior, District
Categories: Civil, Other/Informational
Effective Date(s): 05/10/2021

Creates specific elements of proof in a tort action that alleges an injury resulted from a health
care provider’s failure to follow the accepted standard of care during the COVID-19 emergency.
Requires the court to consider whether the health care provider failed to exercise a degree of
care, skill, and learning expected of a reasonably prudent health care provider, while also
considering whether the act or omission was in good faith or was due to a lack of resources.
Requires the medical provider’s failure to meet this standard to be the proximate cause of the
injury. Permits the court to consider rebuttal evidence if otherwise admissible.

Mental health sentencing alternatives
2SSB 5293

Chapter 242, Laws of 2011 PV

Court Level(s): Superior

Categories: Criminal, Forms

Effective Date(s): 07/25/2021

Creates a mental health sentencing alternative. Allows defendants to request this sentencing
alternative if the defendant is charged with a qualifying felony, the defendant is diagnosed with
a serious mental illness, the defendant and the community would benefit from supervision and
treatment and the defendant is willing to participate in treatment. Allows either party or the court
to motion for the new sentencing alternative. Provides minimum standards for the proposed
treatment and monitoring plans. Requires the court to consider the victims opinion when deciding
whether to sentence the defendant to this alternative. Allows the court to schedule progress and
review hearings for the defendant to evaluate the defendant's progress in treatment and
compliance with conditions of supervision. Provides required community custody conditions.
Allows the court to revoke the sentencing alternative and impose a term of total or partial
confinement within the standard sentence range or impose an exceptional sentence below the
standard sentencing range if compelling reasons are found by the court or the parties agree.
Requires the defendant to receive credit for time served while supervised in the community
against any term of total confinement. Requires the court to issue written findings indicating a
substantial and compelling reason to revoke this sentencing alternative. NOTE: The Governor
vetoed section 8 (emergency clause).
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Reentry services

E2SSB 5304

Chapter 243, Laws of 2021 PV

Court Level(s): Superior, District/Municipal
Categories: Other/Informational

Effective Date(s): 07/25/2021

Creates continuity of medical care, and prevention of disruption, between institutional transfers
such as between prison, jail, state hospitals, and juvenile rehabilitation. Requires suspension
rather than termination of benefits when institutionalization impacts federal benefits. Managed
care organizations must receive notice of date of release, location and other relevant information
30 days in advance of an individual’s release. Requires Health Care Authority apply for a federal
waivers to provide Medicaid services to institutionalized individuals. NOTE: The Governor vetoed
section 11 (related to county of origin for individuals released from total confinement).

Captive insurance

2SSB 5315

Chapter 281, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): Superior, District
Categories: Civil, Other/Informational
Effective Date(s): 05/12/2021

Requires captive insurers to pay a percentage of premiums to the state treasurer. Provides for
various exemptions. Allows the tax to be collected by distraint and allows the commissioner to
recover the tax and fines in a court of competent jurisdiction.

Drug offenses/resentencing criteria
SSB 5361

Chapter 286, Laws of 2021

Court Level(s): Superior

Categories: Criminal

Effective Date(s): 05/12/2021

Extends the deadline for defendants, who are sentenced to certain drug offenses committed prior
to July 1, 2004 and in custody of the department of corrections, to petition the court for
resentencing July 1, 2022. Requires the court to sentence the offender based on current
sentencing guidelines.
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Responding to State v. Blake decision

ESB 5476

Chapter 311, Laws of 2021 PV

Court Level(s): Superior, Juvenile, District/Municipal

Categories: Criminal, New/Amended Crimes, Other/Informational

Effective Date(s): Sections 1 through 11 and sections 13 through 20* took effect 05/13/2021;
section 12 takes effect 07/01/2022.

Requires the health care authority and a newly established substance use recovery services
advisory committee to create a substance use recovery services plan. Requires each behavioral
health administrative services organization to establish a recovery navigator program. Establishes
a grant program to provide various services related to substance use disorder to low income
individuals, an expanded recovery support services program and a homeless outreach stabilization
transition program. Provides for various alternatives to arrest for individuals with substance use
disorder. Requires law enforcement personnel to receive training on law enforcement interaction
with persons experiencing substance use disorders. Adds mens rea element “knowingly” to
various adult and juvenile drug possession statutes. Reduces drug possession penalties from a
felony to a misdemeanor. Encourages prosecutors to divert cases for assessment, treatment, or
other services. Allows law enforcement to divert cases for assessment, treatment, or other
services instead of arrest and referral to the prosecutor. Gives criminal commissioners the
authority to conduct resentencing hearings and to vacate convictions related to State v. Blake,
No. 96873-0 (Feb. 25, 2021). Allows the release of offenders entitled to vacation of a conviction
or an offender score recalculation pursuant to State v. Blake, No. 96873-0 (Feb. 25, 2021) to be
released from confinement, with a court order, if the offender has already served a period of
confinement that exceeds the new standard range. Exempts amended judgment and sentences
issued pursuant to State v. Blake, No. 96873-0 (Feb. 25, 2021) from fingerprinting requirements.

NOTE: Section 11 expires 07/01/2022; sections 8 through 10, 12, 15 and 16 expire July 1, 2023.

*The Governor vetoed section 21, which would have created a new account within the state
treasury.
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2021 LEGISLATIVE SUMMARY CATEGORY INDEX

Category

Accounting

Eviction prevention/recorded document surcharge

Off-Road vehicle/snowmobile reg. enforcement
Judicial Stabilization Trust Account
Suspension of licenses/traffic infractions

Civil

Police officers/tactics and equipment

Legal Aid Fund expenditure restrictions
Reducing greenhouse gas emissions

Worker Protections

Electronic recording of custodial interrogations
Eviction cause/notice requirements

Eviction prevention/recorded document surcharge
Permissible use of force by police/corrections
Civil Protection Orders

Unlawful racial restrictions

Health care workforce eligibility/criminal records
Uniform Public Expression Protection Act
Recycling/waste and litter reduction

Consumer Protection Act/penalties

Civil commitment/transition teams

Involuntary Commitment

Health emergency labor standards

Unlawfully summoning a police officer
Pregnancy and miscarriage-related care
Vehicle/driver data disclosure and use
Conditionally released sexually violent predators
Agricultural employees/overtime pay
Transferring APA/LUPA judicial reviews
Police/personal injury and wrongful death defense
Necessary elements of proof of injury

Captive insurance
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5225
5263
5271
5315
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17 S, D/M
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8 S
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12 S
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20 S
21 S, D/M
21 S
22 S, D/M
22 S
23 S
23 App., S
24 S
25 S, D
26 S,D
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Court Funding/Fees/LFOs

Judicial Stabilization Trust Account 1532 17 S, D/M
Transferring APA/LUPA judicial reviews 5225 23 App., S
Suspension of licenses/traffic infractions 5226 24 D/M, AOC
Criminal

Police officers/tactics and equipment 1054 7 S, ], D/M
Local government/criminal justice sales tax funds 1069 7 S, D/M
Private, for-profit detention facilities 1090 8 S, ]
Reducing greenhouse gas emissions 1091 8 S, D/M
Juveniles/access to attorneys 1140 9 S, ]
Electronic recording of custodial interrogations 1223 12 S, ], D/M
Misdemeanant supervision/interlocal agreements 1294 13 D/M, AOC
Off-Road vehicle/snowmobile reg. enforcement 1322 15 S, D/M
National 988 System/suicide prevention services 1477 16 S, D/M
Fraudulent ballot drop boxes 5015 17 S, D/M
Open carry/public demonstrations & state capitol 5038 18 S, ], D/M
Civil commitment/transition teams 5071 19 S, D/M
Juvenile rehabilitation/reentry 5118 20 J, D/M
Vehicle/driver data disclosure and use 5152 22 S, D/M
Vacating certain convictions 5180 23 S, ], D/M
Mental health sentencing alternatives 5293 25 S

Drug offenses/resentencing criteria 5361 26 S
Responding to State v. Blake decision 5476 27 S, ], D/M

Family & Juvenile

Uniform child custody jurisdiction/enforcement act 1042 7 S

School attendance/truancy petitions 1113 9 S, ]

Child support withholding/federal requirements 1171 10 S
Juvenile rehab/community transition services 1186 11 S, ]
Youth counseling/dependency 1219 11 S, J, AOC
Standardizing homelessness definitions 1221 11 S, ]
Institutional education programs 1295 14 S, ]
Foster care/child care 5151 21 S, ]
Forms

School attendance/truancy petitions 1113 9 S, ]

Youth counseling/dependency 1219 11 S, 1, AOC
Standardizing homelessness definitions 1221 11 S, ]

Civil Protection Orders 1320 15 S, D/M, AOC
Civil commitment/transition teams 5071 19 S, D/M
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Involuntary Commitment
Vacating certain convictions
Mental health sentencing alternatives

Infractions
Suspension of licenses/traffic infractions

JIS

Eviction prevention/recorded document surcharge
Civil Protection Orders

Off-Road vehicle/snowmobile reg. enforcement
Transferring APA/LUPA judicial reviews
Suspension of licenses/traffic infractions

New/Amended Crimes

Reducing greenhouse gas emissions

Off-Road vehicle/snowmobile reg. enforcement
National 988 System/suicide prevention services
Fraudulent Ballot Drop Boxes

Open carry/public demonstrations & state capitol
Vehicle/driver data disclosure and use
Responding to State v. Blake decision

Other/Informational

Worker Protections

Emergency communications systems/tax funding
Thurston County Superior Court/9t" judge
Juvenile rehab/community transition services

Courts and county level operations/COVID-19
Eviction prevention/recorded document surcharge
Misdemeanant supervision/interlocal agreements
Regional transit authority/fare enforcement

Civil Protection Orders

Unlawful racial restrictions

Health care workforce eligibility/criminal records
Judicial Stabilization Trust Account

Uniform Public Expression Protection Act
Recycling/waste and litter reduction

Consumer Protection Act/penalties

Health emergency labor standards

Juvenile rehabilitation/reentry
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Pregnancy and miscarriage-related care

Sexually violent predators

Agricultural employees/overtime pay
Police/personal injury and wrongful death defense
Necessary elements of proof of injury

Reentry services

Captive insurance

Responding to State v. Blake decision

Salaries/Benefits/Personnel/HR
Thurston County Superior Court/Sth judge
Health emergency labor standards
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